Jump to top navigation Jump to main navigation Jump to online banking Jump to "How can we help you?" Jump to feature ads Jump to footer

SCB offices will be closed Monday, January 21st in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

Online Banking


Sevier County Teacher Recognition

2017 Sevier County Teacher of the Year- Banquet & Awards Ceremony

Teachers have a great impact on our children and our community as a whole.  For over twenty years, the Sevier County Teacher of the Year program has recognized excellence in education in our county.  Every year, one teacher per grade category at each school is chosen by his/her peers as that school's Teacher of the Year (TOY).  From there, each building level TOY has the opportunity to enter the county-wide grade level TOY competition.  Winners at the county level gain eligibility for regional TOY, and those winning at regional go on to compete at the state level.

Recently, the 2017 Sevier County Teacher of the Year banquet and awards ceremony was held at the Park Vista Doubletree Hotel in Gatlinburg.  This annual event has been co-sponsored by Park Vista and Sevier County Bank since it's inception twenty-three years ago.  This year, SCB and Park Vista were happy to have a number of corporate sponsors join the event:  Dollywood, Dolly Parton's Dixie Stampede Dinner Attraction, and Ripley's Attractions of Tennessee.

The evening's festivities were emceed by Sevier County Bank SVP Elaine Ely.  After a welcome by County Mayor Larry Waters and the invocation by Sevier County Bank EVP/CFO Bobby Stoffle, attendees enjoyed a fabulous meal prepared by the Park Vista Chef and served by their excellent food and beverage team.

The awards ceremony began with public announcement of the 2017 class of inductees into the Sevier County Education Hall of Fame.  Sevier County Schools Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Debra Cline, read moving biographies on each inductee.  The 2017 class includes- Mr. Dwight Chandler, whose award was accepted in his memory by family members; Ms. Beulah Linn, whose award was accepted in her memory by family members; and, Mr. John Wade who graciously accepted the award, alongside his family.  Those accepting the awards took a brief moment to express their gratitude for such a high honor.

Mr. Chandler's family

Family of Ms. Linn

Hall of Fame inductee John R. Wade and family

Next was recognition of the 2016-2017 Sevier County Teachers of the Year at the building level.  Dr. Cline read each teacher's name, school, and grade level and each received a marble paperweight with engraving to commemorate the honor.  Superintendent of Schools Dr. Jack Parton presented the awards.

Last was recognition of the 2016-2017 Sevier County Teachers of the Year at the county-wide level in each grade category- Kelly McCarter from Pigeon Forge Primary for grades Pre-K through 4th, Lacey Whitaker from New Center Elementary for grades 5th through 8th, and Teresa Loveday from Pigeon Forge High School for grades 9th through 12th.  Each winner received a plaque to commemorate their win at the county level.  Attendees were then treated to a short video of each, showcasing their work in the classroom as well as words of congratulations from co-workers and administrators at their respective schools.

The evening was capped off with concluding comments from SCB's Ely and group photos taken by Kevin Tierney of Lorelai Productions.

Thank you teachers, administrators, support staff, and education pioneers for your commitment to education!







Some photos from last year's event-

2016 Sevier County Teacher of the Year- Banquet & Awards Ceremony

2015-2016 Building Level Teachers of the Year


Sandra Norris & Elaine Ely accept an Education Hall of Fame Award in memory of their mother, Shirley Ely

Lydia Lane & Logan Shults accept an Education Hall of Fame Award on behalf of their grandmother, Lucille Shults

 Dale Phelps & Doris Phelps accept an Education Hall of Fame Award in memory of mother (& grandmother) Ella Tarwater


County-wide Grade Category Winners- Sara Rawlinson, Kari Garrison, Michelle Oliver